

VETERANS TIME TRIALS ASSOCIATION (KENT GROUP)

30 Mile Time Trial

Course Q30/3
Ham Street – Brooklands – Cloverleaf – Brooklands – Ham Street

VTTA Kent Group Championships, BBAR & ECCA BAR Counting Event

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations

Sunday 21st April 2024 07:00

Well done to all the riders who turned up and completed our first 30 in Kent for a few years- no road-works this year (hey!)

Sorry that the VTTA were unable to arrange warmer conditions as many of you requested but it sounded like you all enjoyed the increasing breeze as they event unfolded (well, on the way from Ashford to Brooklands!)

It was a dry morning about 5 deg. C with an ever increasing north, north/westerly breeze.

From our reasonable field of 24 we only had 1 non-starters and 1 DNF (p).

We also had a tandem trike that turned a few eyes ridden by Mary Corbett and Norman Harvey who was the most senior rider in the event.

As ever, many thanks go to all the helpers, without whom we would not be able to ride in Kent on a regular basis.

Start/Finish time keeper Dave Mastin, start official and pusher off Mark Wright, recorder Christine Burrows, Andy Burrows on the left turn, Geoff Newsome, Mike & Lesley Newman & Malcolm Adams at Brenzett RAB, Dick Claxton & Mark Amon at Brookland RAB, Shay Giles & Jan at Bridgefield RAB, Bob Burden & Alyson at Cloverleaf RAB, Results board Bob Giles.

(Thanks Thanet RC, Ashford Wheelers CC (Lee Buckman), VTTA (Kent), SpinWheels Team, (VC Elan), Rye & District Wheelers, DeLaune CC)

Following the event awards were presented to the riders and expenses to the helpers to some generous applause from all those present.

DIY refreshments and a selection of homemade cakes went down well with the riders and helpers. Thanks to Tracy Henderson for the cakes.

Award Highlights:

Andrew Meliak (VeloRefined Rule 5) was fastest Kent veteran on age adjusted time (AAT)and fastest male veteran on actual time with a 01:04:56

Joy Payne (VTTA London & Home Counties) was fastest female veteran on AAT and actual time with a 01:24:28

Fastest female rider on the day was local rider Alex Clay (Team Bottrill) 01:07:27 Fastest male rider on the day was local rider Nic Fennell (Thanet Road Club) 01:02:37

Fastest Road Bike rider was Paul Burrows (Thanet Road Club) 01:11:10

Age Adjusted Time Awards – Veteran Riders:

1st on AAT: Andrew Meilak (VeloRefined Rule 5) 01:00:36 £30 2nd on AAT: Nick Wilson (Rye & District Wheelers) 01:02:37 £20 3rd on AAT: Chris Jones (Bynea Cycling Club) 01:05:57 £10

1st Road Bike on AAT Paul Burrows (Thanet Road Club) 01:10:11 £10

1st Club Team on AAT Rebecca Wilson & Nick Wilson (Rye & District Wheelers) 02:16:19 £10 each

Fastest Time Awards- Veteran Riders:

Fastest female veteran on actual time Joy Payne (VTTA London & Home Counties) 01:24:28 £10 (Fastest male veteran on actual time Andrew Meilak (VeloRefined Rule 5) 01:04:56) 1 award per rider means the next fatstest rider not to be awarded another prize Matthew Smith (Gemini BC) 01:07:18 £10

Non Veteran Awards:

Fastest female rider on the day Alex Clay (Team Bottrill) 01:07:27 £10 Fastest male rider on the day Nic Fennell (Thanet Road Club) 01:02:37 £10

FINAL NOTES:

I have a black/red piping FDX jacket that was left at the start, please contact me to arrange return (it needs a wash!)

If you did not collect your award please contact me and I will arrange transfer it to you.

Marshal/helper expenses please contact me and I will transfer it to you if you did not receive on the day. Hope to see you all next year, or before at future events.

Also interested in your thoughts about event length- should we do a 30 next time? Let me/VTTA (Kent) have your feedback during the season.

AGE ADJUSTED TIME RESULT (Vets):

Bib	First Name	Last Name	Machine	Club	Gender	TIME	AAT
26	Andrew	Meilak	TT Bike	VeloRefined Rule 5	Open	01:04:56	01:00:36
29	Nick	Wilson	TT Bike	Rye & District Wheelers CC	Open	01:08:13	01:02:37
27	Chris	Jones	TT Bike	Bynea Cycling Club	Open	01:07:56	01:05:57
22	Matthew	Smith	TT Bike	Gemini BC	Open	01:07:18	01:06:43
				VTTA (London & Home			
11	Joy	Payne	TT Bike	Counties)	Female	01:24:28	01:06:54
23	Mathew	Lister	TT Bike	Thanet RC	Open	01:09:18	01:08:53
24	Matt	Clark	TT Bike	Ashford Whs	Open	01:11:04	01:09:37
21	Paul	Burrows	Road Bike	Thanet RC	Open	01:11:10	01:10:11
20	Rebecca	Wilson	TT Bike	Rye & District Wheelers CC	Female	01:25:10	01:13:42

12	Mick	Claydon	TT Bike	Ashford Whs	Open	01:20:35	01:16:38
25	David	Prom	TT Bike	Abellio - SFA Racing Team	Open	01:20:16	01:17:02
10	Andy	Robinson	TT Bike	Ashford Whs	Open	01:18:17	01:18:17
9	Vernon	Thomas	TT Bike	Greenwich Tritons Tri Club	Open	01:44:45	01:26:26
17	Kevin	Туе	TT Bike	VeloRefined Rule 5	Open	DNS	DNS
8	Malcolm	Strickland	TT Bike	CC Bexley	Open	DNFP	DNFP

ACTUAL TIME:

	First	Last						
Bib	Name	Name	Machine	Club	Gender	Cat	Age	TIME
6	Mary	Corbett	Tricycle	Sotonia CC	Female	Veteran	66	01:37:46
6	Norman	Harvey	Tricycle	Sotonia CC	Open	Veteran	91	
30	Nicholas	Fennell	TT Bike	Thanet RC	Open	Senior	31	01:02:37
26	Andrew	Meilak	TT Bike	VeloRefined Rule 5	Open	Veteran	57	01:04:56
28	Samuel	Robinson	TT Bike	Ashford Whs	Open	Senior	35	01:06:00
14	Freddie	Allinson	TT Bike	Clapham Chasers	Open	Senior	24	01:06:53
22	Matthew	Smith	TT Bike	Gemini BC	Open	Veteran	44	01:07:18
18	Alex	Clay	TT Bike	Team Bottrill	Female	Senior	28	01:07:27
27	Chris	Jones	TT Bike	Bynea Cycling Club	Open	Veteran	50	01:07:56
15	Martin	Fenna	TT Bike	Ashford Whs	Open	Senior	36	01:08:10
29	Nick	Wilson	TT Bike	Rye & District Wheelers CC	Open	Veteran	60	01:08:13
23	Mathew	Lister	TT Bike	Thanet RC	Open	Veteran	43	01:09:18
24	Matt	Clark	TT Bike	Ashford Whs	Open	Veteran	48	01:11:03
			Road					
21	Paul	Burrows	Bike	Thanet RC	Open	Veteran	46	01:11:10
16	Reuban	Davey	TT Bike	Abellio - SFA Racing Team	Open	Senior	22	01:14:30
25	David	Prom	TT Bike	Abellio - SFA Racing Team	Open	Veteran	54	01:20:16
12	Mick	Claydon	TT Bike	Ashford Whs	Open	Veteran	56	01:20:35
19	Maria	Sparks	TT Bike	Ashford Whs	Female	Senior	36	01:20:50
				VTTA (London & Home				
11	Joy	Payne	TT Bike	Counties)	Female	Veteran	67	01:24:28
20	Rebecca	Wilson	TT Bike	Rye & District Wheelers CC	Female	Veteran	59	01:25:10
9	Vernon	Thomas	TT Bike	Greenwich Tritons Tri Club	Open	Veteran	79	01:44:45
10	Andy	Robinson	TT Bike	Ashford Whs	Open	Veteran	65	01:18:17
8	Malcolm	Strickland	TT Bike	CC Bexley	Open	Veteran	69	DNFP
17	Kevin	Tye	TT Bike	VeloRefined Rule 5	Open	Veteran	62	DNS

VTTA EVENT SECRETARY:

Simon Henderson, 9, Minster Road, RAMSGATE, Kent. CT11 0JL. Mobile 07813085640 Email – <u>Simon Henderson</u>